Indian Cyclists Network

Trek 7100e or Firefox Road Runner (18 gears) ?

Hi,

I am fairly new to cycling & want to decide on which bike to go for - Trek 7100 or Firefox Road runner? After doing some preliminary research it seems that hybrids are a good option for Indian roads.

I do about 10Kms every day for exercise for purely exercise purposes + about 50Kms in weekends. I am currently based out of Kolkata.

Please recommend a bike..... Budget can go up to INR 40000/- but the after sales service & availability of spares need to be considered.

Sachin

Views: 5674

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Sachin,

Both Trek and Firefox have a good back up service in India, I suggest that you go in for an MTB but convert the tyres to Hybrid.  Trek 4300 D is an another good option, so is Kona Blast/ Kona Fire Mountain, I am not very sure on the retail of Kona.

BTWIN also have great bikes valued at great prices, Rock Rider 6 series/ 8 series are mind blowing. You can order it online

http://www.decathlon.in/cycling

BTWIN are vetrans in the cycling Industry and are offering great product lines at cost effective price.

You may be riding 10 K today  but as you build on the sport and make friends from the fraternity, the distance and time dedicated to the sport would grow.

Warm Regards,

Vishal

Hi Vishal,

Thank you for your advise.

I am not sure of the post sale serivce for BTWIN in Kolkata - I need to find out if they have any outlet / dealer here.

The option of replacing the wheels of MTB bikes with that of hybrid is an interesting option. I will explore & research more on it before I finalize on the bike.

Look forward to get expert opinions of others as well.

Regards,

Sachin

hai man, i m 2 from kolkata, u where?
Firefox never epuiped with performence parts , trek is great .as u r 4m my city i know what 2 do here so go 4 hardtail instead of hybrid and u can buy a great bicycle GT ,Cdale,mongoose,within 25k .

Hi,

NIce to know that you are from Kolkata.